skip to primary navigation skip to content

Education, Equality & Development: Staff

Faculty building


The staff members of the group are listed below. Where appropriate, each name is linked to the person's academic profile which contains contact details and further information. Members of the group currently available to supervise research students are indicated with a blue star (blue star).


Jo-Anne Dillabough

Reader in Education
image of staff member

Academic Staff

Sue Brindley

University Senior Lecturer, PPD Programmes Manager
image of staff member

Richard Byers

University Lecturer
image of staff member

Hilary Cremin

Reader in Education, Masters Manager
image of staff member

Ian Frowe

University Lecturer

Philip Gardner

University Senior Lecturer
image of staff member

Nigel Kettley

University Senior Lecturer (Institute of Continuing Education)
image of staff member

Arathi Sriprakash

University Lecturer
image of staff member

Susan Robertson

Professor of Education
image of staff member

Colleen McLaughlin

Director of Education Reform and Innovation (ERI)
image of staff member

Secretarial support to Chair/Convenor:     Ann Waterman ( 
EED Graduate Student Representative: Alexis Artaud de La Ferriere (

Associate Members

  • David Bridges
  • Cristina Devecchi
  • Edith Esch
  • Shailaja Fennell
  • Philip Raymont
  • Tom Steele
  • Richard Taylor

Affiliated Lecturers

  • Tony Booth

Visiting Scholars

  • Dr. John McCarthy, Professor in the Department of Counseling, Indiana University of Pennsylvania (USA) (January 2011 - April 2011)
  • Paola Ravaioli, University of Bologna (October 2010 - August 2010)
  • Dr Maha Shuayb, University of Oxford (2010 - 2012)
  • Sofia R Almeida Santos, University of Porto (1 October 2011 – 1 May 2012)
  • Gerardo R Lopez, Indiana University (18 February – 18 July 2012)
  • Ms Gaye Brunker, Kawamura Gakuen Woman’s University (April 2012 – July 2012)
  • Professor Wendy Drewery, University of Waikato (Sept 2012 – October 2012)
  • Dr He Li, Renmin University of China (January 2013 – July 2013)
  • Professor Erna Nairz-Wirth, Vienna University of Economics and Business (March 2013 – August 2013)
  • Professor Martin Mills, University of Queensland (October 2013 – January 2014)